LAUREATES 1978 – 2021

The European Heritage Awards-Archive contains information on all of the winning projects of the Europa Nostra Awards (1978 -2001) and, afterwards, the EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards and the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards.

This Awards Scheme celebrates and promotes best practice in heritage conservation, management, research, education and communication. 

The records date from 1978, when the Europa Nostra Awards were established by the NGO Europa Nostra, to the present day.
In 2002, Europa Nostra started its partnership with the European Commission. 2002 to 2006, the competition was called the "European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards".  For organisational reasons, the competition did not take place in 2007 and in 2008 it was organised under the name "Europa Nostra Awards 2008". Between 2009 and 2018, the competition was again called "EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards". As of 2019, its name has been "European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards".

Until 2006 the awards were given as diploma, medal and prize; as of 2008 the laureates receive an Award or a Grand Prix.

Every year, specialist juries made up of independent experts assess the nominations and select up to 30 winners.

Until 2021, the awards were given in four categories:
1. conservation (since 1978) | 2. research (since 2002) | 3. dedicated service to heritage (since 2002) | 4. education, training and awareness-raising (since 2008).

As of 2022, there are five categories:

  1. Conservation & Adaptive Reuse
  2. Research
  3. Education, Training & Skills
  4. Citizens Engagement & Awareness-raising
  5. Heritage Champions

Europa Nostra is the European network of heritage NGOs. Covering 40 countries in Europe, the organisation is the voice of civil society committed to the safeguarding and promotion of Europe’s cultural and natural heritage.

The European Heritage Awards Archive is located at University for Continuing Education Krems (Universität für Weiterbildung Krems).

Dr.-Karl-Dorrek-Straße 30 | 3500 Krems an der Donau (Austria) e-Mail: